Progress

(In which it turns out I’m still alive, contrary to all previous evidence, and I use this blog for my own personal goals with no regard whatsoever for your enjoyment.)

First of all, sorry. To all 5 of you.

I got off to a good start, and then stopped blogging for over a year. What happened?

Well, illness. (Depression and anxiety, to be specific, but this isn’t going to be one of those kind of posts, so don’t worry. I may write something about that another time. Who knows.)

The reason I’m back, is that I have a deadline. For the next 14 days, I need to write at least 4000 words each day, on average.

And I need to be accountable, and I need to see my progress visually. That’s right. I’m using this blog for all it’s worth, even if all (5) of my readers leave me. It’s only for a couple of weeks. I’m planning to track my word count progress here, and possible write something about my process or interesting snags I hit along the way, if I have the time and energy.

So, a handy tip to any writers out there: Be accountable. Tell people you’re writing. Tell people how much you aim to write today, and tell them what you accomplished. (But don’t set your goals impossibly high – that will only discourage you and be completely counter-productive.)

But, if no one knew that you were planning to write this month, and no one knows that you didn’t, then it’ll be easier to just drift along and keep on not writing. (Especially if you have a day job, which, let’s face it, most of us have). Share your successes! Share your failures! At least then it’ll feel like they matter.

And for those who follow me for the food stuff (all 3 of you): My humble apologies! I will try to make it up to you with some recipes or even just some nice food links once in a while. (But I make no promises.) At least, when the writing craziness is over, I will reward myself and indulge in food, and I will share it with you.

So, I started writing yesterday. So far, so good.

14% in just 2 days! That’s encouraging!

But that bar is kinda boring, right? This one’s nicer. Look at me, hard at work:

Current bedtime reading: A Short History of the American West (Hine/Faragher). Non-fiction. Really interesting, and changing my perception of the “wild west” with every chapter. Recommended 🙂

Leave a Reply

